Reviews
Review us on:
Marina T.
Marina T.
Silver Spring, MD
12/20/2016
I have been going to see Jackie for couple of hears now and i have never been disappointed! I also go to see Tiffany if Jackie is not available. Both of them are wonderful. I always know that i am going to leave with a great haircut and a blow dry. Warning though, apparently if you call directly to the salon, someone may say that Jackie and Tiffany no longer work there. But they do.
S H.
S H.
Washington, DC
11/23/2016
FYI, only been here once and it was decent. But writing to say that I called yesterday to ensure I could walk-in after work and they said they had moved to the Olney location and I shouldn't go to the Wheaton location. I don't know if that was 100% accurate so I suggest others call and verify before making a trek out here (I went elsewhere, Olney was too far for me).
R C.
R C.
Washington, DC
11/23/2016
I've been getting my hair cut by Calvin for over a year and I've only had the best experience with him. As an Asian guy with coarse hair, I have had a hard time finding an affordable place with stylists who know how to cut Asian hair. Calvin is the best. Not only are my hair cuts under $20, but he takes appointments (and he's very strict about them) and I've never had to wait more than 10 minutes. He also takes credit cards through his smartphone which allows you to get an email receipt. He also went out of his way to switch someone else's appointment so I could come in that day.
Grass B.
Grass B.
Silver Spring, MD
10/4/2015
This is THE BEST hair cut experience ever in my life! I had a really joyful 3hrs (wash, cut and regular perm) the entire time with Jackie, the store owner. We talked nonstop and it was so much fun! And he shared with me a lot of his insights about hair styling: when a customer walks in, he'll first look at the face shape, the appearance, and then how you dress and do makeup to guess how much time you would spend on taking care of your hair, and then ask you about your profession to determine which hair style is suitable for your daily activities, and the of course about the details of the quality of your hair, and also your personality. A real hair stylist is like a detective! And he is superb at it with his 30-year long experience! He taught me how to take care of my hair and taught me how I will look the best -- things I didn't know before -- for example, I have a really flat head and he layered and braided my hair to hide that! I am so grateful! He's like an angel! When I walked out of the store, there are two strangers immediately complimented my hair! I don't know what to say! And the price is only half of what other store charges! The best!!!
Augusto L.
Augusto L.
Gaithersburg, MD
5/1/2015
The only reason I go here is because of Calvin. If you want a good barber that cuts good hair and make you look good ask for Calvin Nhan, in my opinion best barber for hair cuts.
Kyungeun P.
Kyungeun P.
Alexandria, VA
11/6/2014
Updating my previous review. Needless to say, it was a bad first encounter/impression. As mentioned by other yelpers, Ritz gallery is made up of independent stylists that work on their own terms but use the Ritz Gallery salon as their work space. That being said, I wasn't too fond of the overall impression because of the seeming lack of teamwork amongst the stylists. It reflects poorly on the establishment as a whole. (If you read my previous review, the other stylists who answered my call told me to try again later if I wanted to get Tina's number)
The saving grace of my experience at Ritz was actually meeting Tina and having her cut my hair. She was incredibly welcoming, friendly and attentive to what I wanted in a hair cut. For those who have frequented asian hair salons, rest assured that Tina speaks fluent English so you won't have to worry about anything getting lost in translation!
TengYee N.
TengYee N.
Silver Spring, MD
10/15/2014
Tina has been my hair stylist for several years now and she always listens to my requests and delivers! She's friendly, very flexible (I text her last minute asking if I come....now), personable (remembers details about our previous conversations) and always makes me feel welcomed!

Tina also recently did my hair for my wedding day and everyone raved about the up-do! She was so accommodating when I changed the appointment time last minute and she even showed up early, ON SITE! Definitely helped make a very stressful day less stressful :) I will continue to patron her for years to come. Wonderful job!
Angelica T.
Angelica T.
Silver Spring, MD
9/21/2014
This is my update review of Ritz Salon .. I have been going to this place for over a year or so, and still have not been disappointed. My hairstylist TINA had always met my expectations. She does an excellent job cutting and styling my hair.. I recommend this salon, and try the good deal of $35 for shampoo and haircut.
D W.
D W.
Washington, DC
7/31/2014
Just like another Yelper (Tiffany T) stated, each stylist operates independently. If I did not read her review, I would not have expected that. I walked in, and walk ins are welcomed, but you never know who you'd expect since everyone makes their own hours.

Sooo, with that said, this review is for JACKY. I came here today at a recommendation by my sister. I am a NYC and north Jersey native, so finding a great stylist was key, speaking Canto was a HUGE plus. As mentioned, for timing reference - my walk in is on a Thursday at 3:30pm. No wait.

While some people want the idle time getting a scalp, neck, and temple massage - I don't like getting my scalped creepily massaged by someone I'm unfamiliar with. Jacky doesn't waste time - he soaked, shampooed, conditioned, and rinsed. Straight to the styling chair after.

He immediately asked, what kind of cut I wanted - and I said I need a thinning because I have too much volume, and an inch or two of the ends cut. He replied with "I knew it! Washing it felt like you have too much volume" - lol... was it that obvious??

Chatting wise, very personable (it was all in Canto after he found out I can speak). If you wanted to know a little about Jacky -- He's originally from Hong Kong. Started cutting hair, in HK, since he was 15, but moved the States. He works and owns both Ellicott City and Silver Spring. Well, use to own this location (in SS), but sold it a little while back; now, only operates in it as an independent. He's been styling in this area for 23 years. He works four days in Silver Spring, and two up in Ellicott City, but he is flexible if you opt to schedule an appointment.

Back to the final cut... Perfect. NOTHING short of what I would expect if I went back to Manhattan. Thinned out, less volume - could easily feel the weight difference when he blew dry my hair. Flat iron for a little "style" and a mirror to check the back. He trimmed the ends exactly like I asked, and even made sure it wasn't too short to deter from the original style. Normally a stylist would glob on hair product, he didn't, he asked first (I thanked, but opted out).

They take cash or card. I paid with cash ($35 for the cut, of course I paid extra for the tip). Walked out VERY happy! Got his business card and was told I can text him if I ever want an appointment instead of walking in and not finding him. Yippie! SO HAPPY!!!
Joshua K.
Joshua K.
Fort Bragg, NC
7/31/2014
Ritz Hair Gallery is a great place to go if you need a haircut. This review is specifically for Calvin. He has been my barber for the past 6 years. I am currently in the military and the first thing when I need a hair cut, I know I can rely on him for an excellent beyond the standard of a haircut. If your like me and very picky about how my haircut needs to look (to perfection!) Calvin is your guy. He is very attentive to detail and would even recommend what would be best or suit your style or even just cut to your preference. He has never failed me once! And if I had it my way or was a millionaire, I'd pay him just to be my barber!! That's how serious I am of how great of a barber Calvin is. Might I add too, he graduated from beauty school. With that being said, he has standards and is not just doing it for the money. He cuts hair because he loves it and loves to see his customers satisfied with their cuts. If anyone is interested in finding a barber. Don't look no further! Go to Ritz hair gallery and book an appointment ASAP! he will never fail you and you will definitely get your money's worth.
Jenny D.
Jenny D.
Silver Spring, MD
7/29/2014
This review is actually for Andrew.

Some background story on my hair: fairly thick, coarse, dry, frizzy, color treated, and easily split/broken.

I called right when they opened on a Sunday morning and they told me to just come at 12. It was kind of confusing though because I technically never set up an appointment (no name, phone #, etc).

So, I came in around 12:15 and was immediately greeted and asked if I had anyone I wanted to see in particular. This, being my first time, I accepted anyone. Andrew quickly then greeted me and immediately took me to wash my hair.

We talked and I noticed that his English was not that great. I happen to find out that we both spoke Cantonese so I was able to communicate what I wanted. I also showed him a picture of what I had wanted

He cut my hair a little shorter than I originally wanted but he was very attentive. Talked to me, gave me magazines, and very quick. He tugs a little but something I'm pretty used to now.

He even took his time blow drying and straightening my hair, making sure there was no frizz whatsoever. He would constantly check if my hair was symmetrical while doing so as well.

In all, I walked in feeling slum and dull but walked out with such high confidence. It didn't even break my wallet -- only $35 but I ended up giving a $15 tip cause he definitely knows what will look good on you despite slightly not following my desire to keep my length. However, I did not mind it because the medium length hair I left with looked great.

3 days later, my hair still looks just as great. No frizz, no tangles, and still just as smooth!
Alex P.
Alex P.
Silver Spring, MD
7/2/2014
If your looking for a great haircut or are in need of a shape up Calvin is your man to go to, Calvin has been keeping me fresh for over 10+ years till this day and has never disappointed me 5 stars for a great barber and great service i recommend him to everybody all the time! actions speak louder then words see for yourself that is all. keep up the good work bro! (Loyal Customer)
Kaye N.
Kaye N.
Germantown, MD
4/7/2014
i love tiffany from ritz. she did a great job with my hair. she does color,cut and perms very well. professional and not too expensive but quality work. the place is not very fancy but decent,i would definitely keep coming back:)
J Z.
J Z.
Columbia, MD
3/8/2014
It is very difficult to find a good hair salon for Asian in US because our face and head are very different from African American or Caucasian. However, Jackie and Andrew are very good at cutting Asian hair. They charge $20 for a male hair cut which is pretty cheap. You need to call to make an appointment, but usually you still need to wait for extra time. Overall, this place is clean and convenient. Stylist are friendly and skilled. I have been coming to this salon for Jackie and Andrew for more than 2 years and I will keep coming as long as I live in the area.
Tiffany T.
Tiffany T.
Silver Spring, MD
3/6/2014
Each hairstylist here operates his/her own business independently. This review is not about the entire salon but rather one particular stylist -- Tina.

Tina is highly competent. She has been making my Asian hair look great for three years now, and I have no intention of going to anyone else. Her services are reasonably priced, $30-$35 for a cut depending on length. Stylists at fancier salons who charge more than double wouldn't be able to do a better job than Tina. Plus, her friendly and caring way adds a nice touch. Highly recommended.
facebook yelp